Coconut Oil and Biotin- Saviors of Hair, Skin and Nails?


I’ve been looking into some of the interesting posts circulating through Pinterest about Coconut Oil being the best thing ever for your skin, wrinkles and hair as well at a vitamin called Biotin that’s supposed to save me from flaking nails and thinning hair. Well… I’m a skeptic but this is a cheap experiment.

Coconut Oil

The first post I saw by PoshGlam listed 52 things to do with Coconut Oil, but not how to use it exactly with some of their tips and some I would never do. Eat a spoonful? No thank you. So, more research ensued. I read that you can make a cellulite scrub with coffee grounds and your favorite massage oil. Coconut Oil maybe? I may mix up a jar and give it a shot. You just have to massage it in your “trouble” areas then shower it away… Sorry, no before and after pictures from me. But I will try this and report results.

I was off to buy some Coconut Oil for myself. My Coconut Oil was about $8 at Whole Foods but costs about $6 at Trader Joe’s, and they even have it at your local grocery store as well (I saw it last night for $6 at a local Pic N Save.)

IMG_0732

My first experiment was an eye cream  made of Coconut Oil and Vitamin E. The post I read says it “replaces expensive eye cream!” Well, I was using an awesome anti-aging night cream made by Oil Of Olay that was a whole $25, which is why I stopped buying it lately, but I used it for about 5 years, and people always told me (and still do) how amazing my skin looks. I also think not smoking, staying out of the sun too much, and eating a healthy diet has something to do with it. So I mixed up the Coconut Oil and Vitamin E and will be using it under eye for a few weeks to check the results and get back to you. (I’m reading this article on Coconut Oil with a string of comments saying that it can clog pores and cause breakouts  on your face, so I don’t recommend using it as a moisturizer. Just an under eye rejuvenator, and even then it’s an experiment. If you notice anything abnormal, stop use. Some people swear by it, other’s won’t put it on their face at all.)

The next experiment was as a hair cure-all from HowDoesShe.com. I have always had frizzy hair. Summer, winter, doesn’t matter. I’ve tried every possible combination of hair products to cure dead ends, frizz, add shine, tried shine treatments, hot oil treatments, and i’m one stop from something made for african american hair. I can’t think about leaving my hair air dry after a shower without heat styling or at least 3 products. It’s fun… really. Thanks genetics.

So I put a big old handful (about 2 – 3 tablespoons) of this stuff in my hair (per instructions from How Does She) the other day and watched a few episodes of How I Met Your Mother, then hopped in the shower and shampooed and conditioned like usual. I was afraid that having oil in my hair would make it… well, oily. But it didn’t. You just have to shampoo it out. I thought my hair felt softer after just one time, but by the next shower, I was back to my old texture. Maybe you have to do it many times? The experiment continues. Also take the time to read this Hair Bootcamp article. They say to put a little blend of coconut oil, jojoba oil, and olive oil in your hair overnight and shower in the morning. Hmm. I’ll try that tonight and let you know how it goes.

Biotin

I guess I don’t have as much to say about Biotin as Coconut oil. It’s a vitamin derived from B7 that people take for many medical reasons, some extreme being a biotin deficiency (related to hair loss) to kidney dialysis and even Diabetes. It’s said to help with hair growth and nail health as well. I’m going to start taking it today since I’ve been blessed with flaky brittle nails ever since I could use nail polish. Which looks like crap on little broken nails by the way… I also deal with thin brittle hair too. I eat a good diet, and am a healthy person. I never understood why my hair was like this. Again, genetics? So I’m going to see if it helps me at all. I think I have to give it at least a month.

Some people have claimed it helped them incredibly, and some said it didn’t do a thing for them. Some claimed it gave them acne. I have been blessed with good skin, so I’m not that worried about this side effect. Again, everyone will react different than the next person when it comes to certain vitamins. It’s not proven to work, so this is an experiment, and I will keep you updated on the results.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Coconut Oil and Biotin- Saviors of Hair, Skin and Nails?

  1. Very good information I use coconut oil daily. The B-7 I believe is a vitanin needed by those of us who live in the north and lack the suficiant sunshine. also may I suggest using Braggs apple cider vineger and honey in a cup of warm water 3 times daily for all the benifits of apples. An apple a day thing. Again you have to experiment with the taste thing. Tomato juice or fruit mixed in the Magic Bullit is a good way to better health and its just kinda fun.

Leave a Reply

