All Time Favorite Design Theme- “Modern Country”


“What’s your favorite kind of design?” As a designer, I’ve been asked this question so many times, and have had to refine my answer, and do a little research to figure out exactly what to call it and how to explain it. I know what it is, what it looks like, and what kind of items I’m always drawn to, but it seemed to be a mish-mash of a few different styles. I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s called “Modern Country.” (I’ve even googled it to be really sure.)

Here’s how I can best explain it: It’s kind of a mix of something modern, fresh, and crisp and clean, lots of woods, lots of whites and creams- meets flea market chic. There are a lot of neutral and earthy tones, with splashes of accent colors that are easily interchangeable based on season or mood. It’s very Pottery Barn- esque. It’s also that kind of country style that has real wood floors, and old woodwork, (either natural, dark stained, or painted white), pretty wallpapers, brass fixtures, claw foot bathtubs, white tile floors and walls in the bathroom and high ceilings. It’s also flea market and antique style, with beat up wood pieces that never seem to wear out, quilts, wrought iron accent pieces, and large old signs as wall art . Think organic, re purposed materials mixed with new design elements that will never go out of style weather your home is 10 or 100 years old. It’s a seamless mix of the old and the new. That’s what I think of with “Modern Country.”

I’ve read one site (design kitchen ideas . com) that refers to it as “a simple idea that uses  textures, organic finishes and classic shapes to define the design. It is about using the traditional materials in a modern way, without all the embellishments and extra details that create clutter in a room. It takes a cue from European country elements of plain stone work surfaces, wood floors and classic finishes and paint colors. There is lack of clutter and ornamentation and you feel like every element has a purpose for being in the room, not just for decoration.” And I couldn’t agree more.

Here are some pictures that I’ve found that are very “Modern Country”, and have a look that will never go out of style.

A beautiful and timeless kitchen with wood floors, crisp white walls, and baby blue backsplash tiles. You can’t tell if this is a new home, or antique farmhouse. Or hey, maybe it’s an update in an antique farmhouse.

This tiny kitchen is very updated with it’s stainless steel appliances and cabinet hardware, crisp white paint, and accessories, while being old fashioned with it’s wood floors, flea market style rug, and cabinet doors with glass panels with grills. I can’t recall where I found this fabulous photo, but I’ve pinned it to my Pinterest Board full of great kitchen ideas.

Whites, woods, antiques, and a large sunny window. Perfect.

An adorable little Pottery Barn office. It’s got the white, neutral tones, and the wicker and baskets for that touch of country.

This Pottery Barn bedroom is the perfect example of Modern Country. It has the old style of the wood floors, the wood bed, and little wood flea market style pieces in the room like the stool at the end of the bed for books, and the quilt.

This clean white look is a great example from Notebookmagazine.com. White walls, white furnishings, and old pieces like the “Open” sign and the ottoman.

This one looks almost Victorian with the chandelier and the ceiling high cabinets, with their glass doors, but I LOVE the Victorian era, just simplified. Like this. Via SanFranciscoChic.com

If I woke up tomorrow to find fresh coffee brewing. and muffins in the oven, I’d think I had died and gone to heaven. Or I’ve been the victim of some kind of science fiction movie. The stainless steel, wood floors, white tile backsplash, blue accents and crown molding make this kitchen from Traditional Home Magazine a dream.

That’s it for now, I hope I gave you a better idea of what Modern Country is. Happy Decorating!

5 thoughts on “All Time Favorite Design Theme- “Modern Country”

  1. Did you get that quilt set from Pottery Barn?!? I want it but do not see it anywhere! Please help! I’d LOVE to have that bedding set! It’s perfect and what I’ve been looking for! Thanks! Everything else looks great also!

Leave a Reply

