Live Art Night


So last night I did something I’ve never done before. Paint in front of people. The local cafe, White Dog Black Cat has “Live Art” on Thursday nights where artists can come and do their art, in the company of other artists. What a great idea, and a great way to stay motivated! I signed up on a whim, and they called to let me know there was a spot available and I took it. I was nervous at first, but once I started setting up my paints and easel I thought, wait… I’ve been doing this for over 2 decades. I know what I’m doing. This should be fun! So I got me a cocktail and set up my supplies. I had found a picture while Google-ing “night street scenes that had to do with snow” (my inspiration for the night) and I was ready to start.

My Inspiration

Sketching it all out

Starting the sky, and choosing a technique, which I made up on the spot. Kind of impressionist, kind of “slap the paint on the canvas quick and don’t overthink it.”

Putting snow in the street.

The wall was hard to do. The sky was easy to poke paint at and make it look like snow, but the wall was brick. A little harder to be messy at in my opinion.

Almost done. All I needed to do now was the Umbrella.

Done! I ended up re-painting the woman (you’ll see that below) since she was up-proportioned at first. I think she looks more feminine in the real photo, but all in all, I like the results. Especially for only spending 5 hours on it. While drinking.

I snapped this with my phone after re-doing the woman’s legs, and a bit of detail on the street.

I encourage everyone to try live art sometime! What fun it was. Happy painting!

13 thoughts on “Live Art Night

  1. Julianne Luechtefeld says:

    Hello I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great job.

  2. Learn more says:

    I for one think this was a marvelous post. There might have been a few more info, yes,
    but what was said was said wonderfully and I could not agree more if I tried.
    Any further posts on this topic forthcoming? I hope so.
    I am going to bookmark just in case.

  3. eliminating pests says:

    You’re so interesting! I do not suppose I’ve truly read
    a single thing like this before. So good to discover somebody with
    original thoughts on this subject matter. Really..
    thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that’s needed on the
    web, someone with a little originality!

  4. http://tinyurl.com/ says:

    Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t
    loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I
    think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet
    browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.