The Urban Frog: Lighting Ideas


So I’m trying to come up with some design and lighting ideas for the Urban frog that would be made from re-purposed materials, antiques, or something recycled. I was hoping to make something myself, but knowing that there are about 14 light fixtures, I don’t know if I would have the time (while I work 2 jobs…) So I was scouring the web for some awesome ideas. I want to keep the theme of the re-do very “Urban” (to keep with the name) and “Up-cycled” and fresh, fitting with the theme that the restaurant uses organic food stuffs, and has a lot of vegan and vegetarian options. Here’s a few things I found that I think would be fun:

This light fixture is made from zip ties. Via The Violet Hours Blog.

This bubble light is home made, check out the tutorial on Apartment Therapy’s Site.

I saw something like this done once on Design on a Dime. They took twine, lots of glue, and baloons to create this shape. Once the twine was dry, the baloon was popped and voila! Light Fixture! This one comes to you via Home Dzine.

As much as I love this idea, I fear that the jar wouldn’t provide the right kind of light in a large space. Brought to you by Many Hats of a Mom.

I LOVE this idea! How to create this Pottery Barn fixture… Hmmm… Take a rim of a lamp shade. Paint black. Get alligator clips. Paint those black. Attach clips to ring, and attach pages of old stories, music sheets, cookbooks, and children’s illustrations. Fire hazzard? Maybe. I would have to find a way to keep the light bulb from touching the papers.

I’m totally in love with, and must make THIS one. At least for my own home. It’s a faux capiz shell lamp made of wax paper, a planter and some ribbon. Genius!

I’m sure I’ll come up with something. Otherwise I’ll just leave the lights the way they are, and add tons of awesome accessories to make the place look smashing!

4 thoughts on “The Urban Frog: Lighting Ideas

  1. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for rookie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  2. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

Leave a Reply

