Stylin’ Glasses for Low Dough


I was in need of some new glasses recently, only due to the fact that i’ve stylishly outgrown mine. So it was more of a want than a need, per say. But I’m in between insurance carriers right now (the way one is between jobs) and a new pair at a store can cost me anywhere between $300 and $500 and beyond for an exam, frames, lenses… so I opted for asking around, and shopping online. I popped into the old eye doctor, and had them write down my prescription for me so I could order online. (NOT telling them that was my intention. I hate to bruise egos.) I found a few really cool sites that you can  choose frames, punch in your prescription, and within weeks, have new frames sent to your door for as little as $15!

Zenni Optical boasts ridiculously low prices ranging from $6.95 and up for frames and lenses. You can add anti-glare coating and clip on sunglasses for as little as $4. You can even get yourself some prescription sunglasses.

There’s a wide selection of awesome and colorful frames.

Here’s a snap of me in my $20 specs.

Warby Parker is another site that offers glasses for $95, and that includes shipping, frames, lenses, and free return shipping in case something goes awry. They also provide a pair of glasses to someone in need for every pair they sell. How awesome is that?

They have a neat selection of vintage inspired frames. And by creating them themselves they can afford to keep costs low and save you money.

They are also a Carbon Neutral company. “We actively work to reduce our environmental impact. In fact, we’re one of the only carbon-neutral eyewear brands in the world. We’ve mapped out all of our greenhouse gas emissions from frame production to shipping to warehousing to office work and have purchased carbon offsets accordingly.” PLUS- hold up. They have monocles. What?! I know. Pretty nifty.

There’s also BonLook, an eye ware company that has prescription frames + lenses and sunglasses for just $99. And like Warby Parker, they have free Carbon Neutral Shipping.

They boast of a “Pay It Forward” where BonLook has joined in on the great work of the nonprofit organization Helen Keller International (HKI) by donating 1% of its sales to HKI’s ChildSight® program in New York, which seeks to improve the vision and academic potential of low-income children who have limited access to basic vision care.

Here’s just a few of their stylish looks. Happy glasses hunting! I know you’ll look stunning!

One thought on “Stylin’ Glasses for Low Dough

Leave a Reply

