Going to be an Auntie! Thoughts on What I Will Do When It’s My Turn…


In a few months or so I get to look forward to being an auntie (again!). The last time I wasn’t quite an adult and couldn’t appreciate it to it’s fullest until my niece was about 3 or 4 and we could hang out and have conversations. But talk about babies has got me thinking. What will happen if, and when I have kids? There are so many things to think about. What will I feed it, store bought or home made food? What will the baby’s room look like? I’m big on colors and their affect on people psychologically, and would want to paint a baby room in a color that was pleasant, and stimulated the brain… Here’s some of my ideas.

Good thing I have a Magic Bullet Blender.

I saw this book today at Williams Sonoma and it got me thinking about cooking my own baby food. Probably cheaper than the jar stuff. Plus I can get creative…

Adorable.

I love this baby room. The colors of the walls are soft and soothing, like a spa. It makes you want to relax. The rug is soft and cozy, and there are places to read to baby, keep books, and the curtains have a fun pattern. Perfect!

I love paint.

Since I love to think that colors and surroundings play a big role in our moods, brain function, and motivation, I love this set by Martha Stewart. I love 1, 5, 9, and 13. Very serene, and yet uplifting. And 7 packs a punch of color that’s just cute.

Clean Shopping.

Baby crafts will be made, and often. I’ll have 9 months, right? And this will be one of them. There are enough germs in the world, thank you! What about diapers? I have no idea about the issue of fabric ones. I will have some research to do.

Modern Baby Glam.

This baby room is totally chic and glam. It has a chandelier and mirror dresser… I’m sure a little fashion editor grew up here. I wish I had a little room like this when I was younger. May have made me feel more at home as a kid.

Adorable baby bag.

I know I will want to use my sewing skills for so many things. If you are given a skill that you long to do regularly, why not use it, right? Especially if it saves you money. This diaper bag from craftster.org is chic, and functional. I have a few baby projects on my pinterest board. They are meant for my new little niece, but I know I will use them for myself one day.

Oh, those sweet sounds...

Of COURSE this kid is going to listen to good music. Music that shaped me as a person, and music that’s just good. I hated a lot of what I listened to when I was growing up, and can’t stand it to this day. But I love music, and hope to have a kid that does too. 1. Joni Mitchell, Blue. 2. Billie Holiday. 3. Beatles, Rubber Soul. 4. Belle and Sebastian, Write about Love. 5. Ani Difranco, Out of Range. 6. Weezer, Blue Album.

Just a few...

This list could go on and on and on. I’m a huge movie buff. But I would hope that my child would watch intelligent shows and movies, and not brain numbing shows about idiot girls that are famous for no reason, wear more makeup than RuPaul, and speak the way some people text. 1. Casablanca. 2. Star Wars. 3. Ratatouille. 4. The Nightmare before Christmas 5. Doctor Who. 6. Amelie.

Smart books for smart kids.

Here’s a few books that would be great for a kid/early teen to get into. 1. Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman. 2. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. 3. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. 4. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. 5. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. (and all other Neil Gaiman books like Coraline and Stardust.) 6. His Dark Materials (aka, The Golden Compass) by Phillip Pullman. Not listed is Grimm’s Fairy Tales and Hans Christian Anderson’s children’s tales, R.L. Stine books, (I loved the Goosebumps and Fear Street collection.) I didn’t list the Bible. I’m not religious, but believe all children should be well informed about the Bible so they can make their own choices.

Of course all I could really dream of here is a happy, and healthy baby. But i’ve learned from the mistakes of my parents, those around me, and have adapted a few skills that I would love to pass on.

Happy baby dreaming!

Leave a Reply

