Happy New Years!


As the year comes to an end and the tree starts coming down, we start to reflect on the year past and make resolutions for the next year. I know there’s a number “13” in the next calendar year and the Mayan’s supposedly predicted mankind’s demise, but let’s throw superstitions aside and know that it will be a great year full of good luck and abundance. What are your plans for New Years? Do you make resolutions and do you follow them? How about not making unreasonable resolutions for the New Year, (I will lose 20 pounds and fund a trip to Paris!), but how about making ones you can stick to, and be happy about?

185773553348554576_Efny7Ypx_c

Image link

Here are some easy resolutions you can be sure to stick to:

1. I promise to treat myself better. (No more negative talk.) I won’t say anything bad about myself I wouldn’t say to my best friend. After all, I AM my best friend, and I love me. If I am truly unhappy about something in my life and want to change it, I will make the steps to do so.

2. I promise to eat better. I will make a conscious choice to make better food choices and think before putting something in my body that could be bad in the long run.

3. I promise to keep in touch with my loved ones. Life is short. Let them know you love them. It doesn’t take long to make a phone call and brighten up someone’s day.

4. I promise to look into saving for retirement. I know I should have technically done this when I graduated from high school, but I didn’t. A consultation from Northwest Mutual is free and extremely eye-opening… Hey, it’s your future.

5. I promise that I will spend more time with my friends. An occasional lazy weekend instead of hitting up a party happening is ok, but if you stop hanging out with friends altogether, you stop getting invited places. Lately I’ve realized the importance of cultivating meaningful relationships with friends, and I want to put in the effort to spend quality time with those who are important to me. Throw a girls night, go to brunch, or sit on the sofa with someone and chat on a lazy Sunday. Make memories, grow friendships, and meet more people!

6. I promise to read more books and less magazines. A mind should never stop learning. Books on my list this year: The Happiness Project by Gretchen Ruben, The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus,  and You are Not Your Brain (a book about changing your way of thinking in 4 steps to be more positive).

7. I will be better with the money I DO have. I use Mint.com for budgeting and financing and I rave to my friends about it. I also keep a check register for months ahead of time so I know when to be on the lookout for low balances. It doesn’t hurt to talk to a financial planner to see where you can cut back on expenses and save more money for things like vacations and emergencies.

8. Last but not least, I will listen to my gut. I will stop ignoring my instincts and find ways to be happier. If something genuinely doesn’t make me happy or feel right, I will find a way to either change it or change myself, otherwise, it has to go. Happiness should be a way of life, not an end goal. Make it happen!

Happy New Years, friends! Be safe, and I’ll see you next year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

