Re Fab Cabinets- from Trash to Treasure


So last month during the time when the college kids move out, Boyfriend and I scoured the neighborhood for treasures. Amongst our new finds we got two 15″ cabinets, and a 5 foot slab of butcher block countertop. I cut off some of the countertop to fit the cabinets with a saw I borrowed from my dad.

cabinets kitchen 2

Before: The kitchen lacked counter top, and storage.

cabinets before kitchen

The space by the fridge lacked countertop space for pulling things out of the fridge, and every time we moved the dishwasher by the sink, we had to unplug the Juicer.

 cabinets before

Before, with their natural glory. I filled in the holes to add knobs instead of pulls.

cabinets 6

I gave them a coat of primer, and two coats of black paint.

cabinets 4

After! I think they look amazing! And we can leave them for the next tenants. Total cost: $10. ($8 in paint and $2 in shims.) I left a little overhang on the countertop by the stove to store bags underneath and add some more prep space.

cabinets 2

Now… I’m on the hunt for cute knobs! Maybe something with color?

cabinets 5

Cabinet #2. It’s so nice to have a home for the Juicer! This has to be my favorite re-vamp in the apartment so far. Other than painting the wood paneling wall in the office/ craft area. Happy Re-Fabing!

Leave a Reply

