My Top 10 Holiday Classic Movies


With the holidays coming up (way too fast, might I add) I’ve compiled a list of my top 10 favorite holiday classic movies. And not necessarily in order either. I can’t pick favorites!

1. Mixed Nuts. If you haven’t seen this nutty movie about two people who work for a suicide hotline, a serial killer on the loose, and a cross dressing Liev Shreiber, do yourself a favor. Please.

MixedNuts_Stills_01
2. The Holiday. It’s cheesy. It’s campy. But dang it, I like it. Kate Winslet and Cameron Diaz switch houses (and countries) in this holiday movie.  Image Credit.

holiday
3. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. Do I need to explain WHY this movie is awesome? No. Image Credit.

national lampoon
4. Scrooged. I LOVED this version of A Christmas Carol when I was a kid. Carol King as a sadistic fairy angel? Hilarious.

scrooged1
5. Home Alone. Come on, we all dreamed of being left alone, without our families, and then beating major criminals with our cunning wit and keen skills.

home alone
6. Elf. How can you NOT love a movie where Will Ferrell was raised by elves on the north pole and then naively emits a child like christmas vibe for all to see and love?

elf
7. Emmet Otter’s Jugband Christmas. This has been a favorite since childhood. I had a few bottles of wine last year with a friend and watched it again, and it’s still just as good. Image Credit.

Emmett-Otter-300x202
8. Nightmare Before Christmas. It’s a movie that’s good for many holidays. From Halloween to Christmas and all the way through Easter.

WHAT-S-THIS-nightmare-before-christmas-32914448-500-300
9. It’s a Wonderful Life. Nothing will make a family man feel less like he threw his adventurous life away for kids and a wife more than realizing that everyone’s lives would have sucked without him.  Image Credit

Its-A-Wonderful-Life_645x400
10. Love Actually. There are a LOT of characters in this British all star cast I could do without, but in a movie where a guy from London can come to Milwaukee, Wisconsin to hook up with easy women, and where Liam Neeson and Colin Firth are the main men of a movie, there are many reasons this is in my top 10.

love-actually-02

I know I left a lot of movies out… like all of the childhood classics from Rudolph, to The Grinch, to Frosty the Snowman, A Christmas Story, Prancer, and the one where Tim Allen becomes Santa. But there are so many classics, and remakes of classics every year it’s hard to keep track. Happy Holidays!

One thought on “My Top 10 Holiday Classic Movies

Leave a Reply

