Happiness Journal


For years as a teen, and in my early 20’s I kept a journal. I have either packaged them away or thrown them away due to the fact that I was using them to vent and complain in. Mostly about my relationships and my negative home life. But what good does that do to me, and my mental state to dwell on the bad things? Sure at the time it was cathartic to be able to get out my emotions on paper and it helped to make sense of them sometimes but later it didn’t help me to see how far I’ve come, just how lost and confused I was. And I felt bad for the old me that I was in certain situations that I had little or no control over. So I decided to make a “Self Help / Happiness Journal” book, as it were. I keep it in my purse and read through it when I’m feeling down about myself or life, but I should read it every day. I fill it with articles  and uplifting quotes that are motivational and let me know I’m normal in my feelings, and how to improve on my mental well being.

Truth be told, I’m someone that needs “cognitive behavioral therapy,” which is (in a nutshell) constant positive reminders to change negative brain waves and patterns that weren’t normal or proper that I grew to know as facts, due to being surrounded by negative people as a child. Now that I’m an adult, I know that I feel something should be different or I should feel a certain way but I don’t, and I need to remind myself things over and over to change and retrain my brain.

Happiness Book Cover

 

My “journal” or little book is a basic Moleskin book that I’ve colored a picture to the cover of. I got the kind with blank pages so I can do drawings inside if I like as well as write.

Happiness Book 1

Some of my scribbles. This article on “How not to feel like an Outsider” was helpful.

Happiness Book 2

10 Habits of Happy People. I just watched a Soul Pancake video on how not just gratitude, but expressing that gratitude makes people happy. It’s proven!

Happiness Book 3

Free ways to reward myself and things that make me happy. Otherwise I love to reward my happy days with shopping. Bad idea. Retail therapy always works, but it can get as expensive as REAL therapy.

happiness book 5

An article I read on 5 unchanging elements of an incredible life. The next page says “I Will” instead of “To Do” because making a to do list telling yourself you WILL do something means you are more likely to get it done.

Reminders about why I should be and stay happy are exactly what an existential person like myself needs! I suggest this for everyone. Even a small book with quotes in it can be uplifting in a sour time.

Happy motivating!

4 thoughts on “Happiness Journal

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I also need those constant reminders. Your journal painting is pretty and a reminder of coming summer. I liked what you said about being grateful. It’s kind of “my word” for this season. I found this quote awhile back. I thought you might like it.

    {Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough and more.
    It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.}
    Melody B.

    Have a glorious Saturday!
    Tamara

Leave a Reply

