DIY Stencil


I’ve been making bags left and right getting ready for my first craft fair, and wanted to come up with a way to give my bags another one of a kind touch. I’ve been loving the bike stencil I got from Amazon lately, and wanted more! So I decided to make my own.

You need:

  • Photo paper or thick glossy cardstock
  • Fabric paint or acrylic paint
  • Stencil brush or foam brush

paper

Start with a piece of photo paper. It’s hard to tell but this is half a sheet.

No 8 Bag

My inspiration for my stencil!

IMG_2050

Start with tracing your idea on the paper. Make sure to NOT have a piece that will fall out! Just leave a space where a circle meets NOT to cut.

IMG_2030

I blended some black fabric paint with a touch of white acrylic to make a dark smokey gray.

IMG_2031

Tape your stencil to your fabric with painter’s tape so it won’t move while you’re painting.

IMG_2032

Lightly dab some paint on your brush, then dab a little off before stenciling to avoid blobs.

IMG_2033

Finished stencil painting! After you’ve painted, lightly peel it off, lifting at one side, almost like flipping the page of a book. That way you won’t slide the stencil and make a mess.

IMG_2034

Finished stencil! I love it. JUST what I wanted.

IMG_2035

All done! (And on Etsy.) What do you think?

IMG_2039

I went ahead and stenciled a few more things too. I made a few other numbers too so not all my Number stencils are the same.

IMG_2038

And made a cute mustache for fabric printing. Happy Stenciling!

Leave a Reply

