When I think of the “Holidays”


With so many different religions, nationalities, and traditions, the “Holidays” mean something different to everyone. When you bid them adieu during this time of year, you don’t tell then to enjoy what you celebrate in winter, you tell them “Happy Holidays!” as not to offend anyone and to genuinely tell them you want them to enjoy what they celebrate.

I think “Holidays” unanimously means to celebrate your religion and traditions with family and be grateful for what you do have, and show others how much they mean to you by giving them a token of your appreciation for having them in your life. Growing up in a distant family and in a broken home, there were Christmas’ where I was the only one to show up with gifts, and most of the time other family members didn’t even show. Once my family was so unprepared for it being a holiday that we had to go to the gas station and buy pizzas for dinner. Another time we celebrated by going to a local Chinese food restaurant, since they were the only place open on Christmas. As much as I appreciated just being together, I always longed for more.

My mind always wanders to someplace picturesque for the Holidays, something I always wished I had, and something I will make sure my children have so they never feel like they missed out on a family that had traditions, and appreciation.

Woody Wagon

When I think of the Holidays, I think of a car full of presents, driving in the snow to make it to see the family for Christmas. Image Credit

Colored Lights

When I think of the Holidays, I think of bright colored Christmas lights, the only time of year I get to see them shine at home and throughout the neighborhood. I love to drive home slowly, taking different routes to see what the neighbors have done with decorations.

stairs with garland

When I think of the Holidays I think of coming downstairs in the morning to sounds of family laughing in the kitchen, and the smell of coffee and bacon. Image Credit.

hot chocolate

When I think of the Holidays, I think of Hot Chocolate, Eggnog, and Tom and Jerry’s in a festive Christmas mug. Image Credit.

COOKIES

When I think of the Holidays, I think of cookies and creamy cheesy potatoes and casseroles and all around comfort food high in calories and low in consideration of those calories.

Christmas Movie Night

When I think of the Holidays, I think of snuggling up to watch a festive movie with some fresh popped popcorn, such as Elf, The Muppet Christmas Carol, or The Holiday. Image Credit.

Gift Jar

Most of all when I think of the “Holidays”, I think of spending it with the people you love and care about, the people that you cherish and appreciate. I think of making gifts for the people in my life, because I love to hand craft items for the people I care about. I want to show the I care for them by making them something special that fits their specific needs. Image Credit.

Socks and the Fireplace.

So cozy up with your loved ones, make some hot cocoa, and tell someone you love them.

Happy Holidays!

2 thoughts on “When I think of the “Holidays”

Leave a Reply

