DIY Car Deodorizer


So I read something a while back on Pinterest about getting rid of frost on your windshield with vinegar. That seems to be the only thing I read about that topic, not how to, or when to apply the vinegar. So one frustrating Wisconsin winter morning, I went outside after a solid 5 minutes of ice chiseling to get to my car and decided to go in, get a cup of vinegar, and dump it on the windshield. Needless to say it didn’t work, and the inside of my car smelled like vinegar.

I didn’t want to pay for a car freshener, and all of the chemicals in them, so I decided to make something I can put in the car myself to get rid of the stink.

Car freshner 2

All I used was some Vanilla, a cotton ball, cloves, and some cinnamon. I also added a cinnamon stick for good measure. I put the cinnamon sticks in the tea filter bag, and then put about a teaspoon of vanilla on the cotton ball and threw that in there, along with a few sprinkles of the cloves and cinnamon. Be careful not to soak the cotton ball, you don’t want the vanilla soaking through the tea bag and onto your car. You can also use a coffee filter if you don’t have the tea bags. Then tie it up with something pretty. I got this ball of yarn for just $2 at the craft store!

Car freshner 1

Tie your cute little bag up with some string and that is it! I put the little bag on my dash and let the heat take care of the smell in the car. The car smells like Christmas morning! And as the delicious smell of the Vanilla settles in, your car will smell like an amazing fresh cigar. I’ll switch it out when the weather turns warmer for something floral and fresh.

Other recipe Ideas:

  1. Dried oranges and lemons, bay leaf and dehydrated cranberries.
  2. Lavender, sage, and dried lemon slices. (Lavender is an herb that relaxes, so you don’t want JUST lavender in a car, where you should be awake!)
  3. Cinnamon sticks and dried orange slices with some dried anise stars.
  4. Dried apple slices with cinnamon sticks and cloves.
  5. Jasmine oil (or any favorite essential oil) on a cotton ball with some dried Lemon Verbena.

The possibilities are endless! Just make sure you are working with dried ingredients so nothing molds. You can also add your little scent bags to the vacuum cleaner, hang by the shower, dresser drawers, or just about anywhere in your home you need a little freshen up.

Happy air freshening!

Leave a Reply

