My New Job: Craft Fair Circuit


So a little over a month ago I quit my full time job as a corporate Interior Designer to work Craft Fairs selling my bags and other hand made goods that I make out of re-purposed materials. I have to say, this is the best decision I have ever made. I am happier, less stressed out, less anxious, and for the first time in a long time, I feel like I’m finally doing something I want to do, and while I work, I don’t feel like there’s somewhere else I need to be. I love being able to create the things I want to create and see them come to fruition. (Finally!)

tent at bailey

Each fair is a new experience, from the layout of the tent, to the location, to the craft neighbors we land next to. One week it was a mother daughter team selling tutus, and one week it was a character artist. We were also lucky enough to land next to someone that watched my cashbox while I used the bathroom since I was working alone that weekend.

tent at bailey's 2

I have noticed that different things are popular at different markets. One week it’s the whales, one week it’s the keychains. Every group is different!

Display

Coming up with a display is the most fun part. I always love a challenge.

booth

I love to incorporate vintage pieces into my display too, from luggage, to gold luggage carts, to found branches to hang bags off of.

collage

I like to keep a variety of things for sale, to let people know I have something for everyone!

fabric pile

My craft room at home is a disaster, but that’s ok with me. It gives me a chance to clean it, and re-find things I forgot I had.

I’ll do a post on useful tips and tricks for getting into craft fairs as well, and what to bring as well as a check sheet. Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “My New Job: Craft Fair Circuit

  1. Well done! How wonderful to follow your passion and be where you both need to be and want to be 🙂 Keep it up – love hearing about your adventure!

Leave a Reply

