Things To Love About Fall!


So fall is easily my favorite season, even more than summer. You can call me crazy, but with the crisp air, the fall leaves, the smell that floats through your windows and makes you crave tea and pie out of nowhere… How can you not love it? Here are some of my favorite things about fall…

Apple pie.

For years friends and I went to the orchard, picked apples, and pressed home made apple cider that was to die for. The boys did the heavy work and the girls baked pies in the kitchen for everyone. I have the most SIMPLE recipe that I’ve always used that I would love to share with you…

Ok, this recipe has been used SO many times in my personal (Betty Crocker) cookbook that the pages are sticking together… It’s so simple and easy though, that I hardly ever need to run out for ingredients! Unless I need more apples… I recommend white flour and not wheat flour though. It’s crisper and not so grainy…

Crust:  (can be doubled for a bottom and top crust pie)

  • 1 cup all puropse flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 cup plus 1 tbsp shortening
  • 2 to 3 tbsp cold water

Filling: (the best apples are a crisp red or granny smith.)

  • 1/3 to 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • dash of salt
  • 8 cups thinly sliced peeled apples (like 6-8 apples)
  • 2 tbsp butter

Heat oven to 425. Mix flour and salt in bow. Cut in shortening, using pastry cutter or criss crossing 2 knives, until particles are size of small peas. Sprinkle with cold water, 1 tbsp at a time, tossing with a fork until all flour is moistened and pastry almost leaves the side of the bowl. (You can add more water if you need it.)

Gather pastry into a ball. Shape into flattened round on lightly floured surface. You can refrigerate it in plastic wrap if you want to, and it helps firm the dough. Roll pastry onto lightly floured surface, using a floured rolling pin so it doesn’t stick. Roll into a circle large enough for your pie plate and set inside.

For filling, mix sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in large bowl. Stir in apples. Put filling in your pie crust. Cut butter into small pieces and sprinkle over your filling. If you use a top filling, or not, cover the edges of the pie crust with tin foil to avoid over cooking. Bake 30 minutes and then take the tin foil off. Then bake 15 minutes more. Take out, cool a bit, and enjoy!

Carving Pumpkins: I absolutely LOVE going to the pumpkin patch, riding the tractor, and hand selecting a pumpkin to carve. It’s pretty basic. Cut the top off in a fun little shape, scoop out the insides, and carve a face, or creature into the pumpkin. Baking the seeds for a little treat is a great bonus too!

Me and last year’s pumpkin.

Fall Fashion: I LOVE fall fashion. I love the scarves, , the layers, the leggings with the dresses, and tall boots. I love fall colors, warm oranges, deep maroons, sage greens and browns. I saw a few ads in my newest Glamor mag that made me love fall even more.

Queen of Layers… Rachel Bilson

Halloween decorations: I just moved out of my “Mom’s” house like 6 months ago, and am going to miss Halloween with her. She was the queen of decorations!!! She also had the scariest house on the block. The cobwebs, the mannequins with chainsaws, the spiders and dummy’s… It was amazing. I love decorating, (I did it already.) I love the pumpkins, fall leave garland, ghosts, jack-o’lantern candle holders, and pumpkin spice scented candles… It’s euphoric!

The front porch last year!

More of the front porch.

Drinks: I love fall themed beverages. Pumpkin Latte. Chai Tea. Spiced Rum Apple Cider. You name it, I’ll try it. It’s easy to be inventive too when it comes to fall. Brew a little tea, add a little cinnamon and honey (and a little bourbon) and you have a beverage! And what’s better than a little warm spiked cider on Halloween night?

Well, there you have my favorite things about fall… I hope you can enjoy them too! Happy Autumn!

One thought on “Things To Love About Fall!

  1. Steve cheap designer says:

    It is good for acquiring outsider’s perspective at designing. We are looking outwards, from an inside view. Since, best work have intended for the people who were from outsiders , get time to “look in”. Can visit how they look is worthy time as well.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.