Simple DIY For a Rainy Day


I know I haven’t blogged in a few days, (or weeks) and I need to get back on the horse. Looking forward to going back to school in the fall has me working a lot to save money and leaves me with little time for crafting. So I thought, what are some easy DIY projects that I could complete in an afternoon, with materials I already have? I found a few on Pinterest and wanted to share them with you so you (and I) can try them out!

DIY Basket

How about an easy DIY Dip Dyed basket? You can get baskets at the thrift shop for under a dollar and if you don’t feel like making a mess with a bucket of paint, just tape off a line around the basket and paint it on.

DIY abstract art

How about a piece of art to fill a lonely wall? You can get a canvas at a local hobby shop for under $10 and three colors of paint to mix and match for $1 a piece. Use a piece of parchment paper or tin foil taped to a flat hard surface (like a notebook or sketchbook) and mix and paint away! Or even lay your canvas flat, squeeze the paint on in little globs and mix the colors together. Have fun!

DIY bleach towels

This looks simple enough! If you don’t have the tea towels you can find some fabric at a thrift shop or hobby store for cheap. You can them hem the sides an inch a piece, making 10″ x 10″ squares and bleach your own pattern.

DIY Granola

Looking for something to bake, that’s healthy? I find every time I want to make granola I have just about every ingredient to do so in the cabinet. You can bake it long enough to make cereal or neglect stirring it too often and make chunks to snack on. I’ve made this recipe a number of times and always get great results.

DIY Fabric Box

If you’re itching to sew, you can make one of these little guys with scraps, old dress shirts (pockets!), or canvas. Use a stiff material to keep them from flopping, and add handles and make any size you want! Hang them from door handles, put them at the base of the stairs for things to bring up, or keep them in the kitchen for spices or tea bags.

DIY Scrapbook

I don’t know about you but I tend to keep scrap booking materials everywhere I go. Coasters, brosures, business cards, stickers, receipts, writs bands, and photos. This is a fun and easy way to keep them all together. You can use key rings and a hole punch to make your book at little to no money, if you already have the materials.

Happy Rainy Day DIY!

One thought on “Simple DIY For a Rainy Day

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.